Skip to content

UBUNTU LTS

December 1, 2016

I’ve discussed before about the new Ubuntu LTS upgrade. I can say now some tricks I’ve learned.

First of all, going to PHP7 can be frustrating. First because the PHP-FastCGI is installed by default during the upgrdae. This is mainly to run PHP7 with the nginx server. When you come from PHP5 and a running install of Apache 2.4, you don’t want this stuff. Then I stopped the PHP Fast-CGI which is basically a PHP server and I’ve configured my Apache 2.4 to run correctly.

Due to this configuration, PHP was “out-of-service” but not the PHP pages. I have exposed the code source of my pages to the world. Then be careful… On my side, nothing to regret: all the sensible files containing the configuration are stored outside the public area of the site. Just some users have seen some very surprising pages. Note Google has also indexed these pages. Then having your sensible data accessible from the public area is very dangerous. Note the users of WordPress can store their config.php file a folder above the public area. This is a very good advice.

Then, after this, I needed to re-install all the extensions including the MongoDB in his new release. Basically, the new version of the driver is easy to install if you are prepared. Better to test with a PHP5 working installation.

The last (but very annoying) thing about the update, this is the rotation file for Apache logs. Edit the “/etc/logrotate.d/apache2″ file. I was surprised (some time after) that only one week of logs were retained. Not enough for me. I changed it manually.

The very bad news is concerning MongoDB. First of all, MongoDB goes to version 2.6. Which is quite ridiculous. For a long-term release, a version 3.0 was expected. Nevertheless, you can update your database to a recent (a decent) version with the MongoDB repository. Note this version 2.6 do NOT start automatically when the server boots. I don’t know why. As I restart my server twice a year, I don’t mind really and I will upgrade to version 3 instead of looking for a solution.

Note the upgrade was running during one hour but the server can continue to serve your webpages through Apache2 because there is no many reboots and things are conceived to go straight.

have a good upgrade (if you have not done it yet).

 

From → Webmaster

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

